Christopher Homick


Spring is here, and so is more new music!

Christopher will be playing violoncello on Yu-Hui Chang‘s When the Wind Comes, the Grass Bends on EQ’s latest concert. Yu-Hui’s piece both celebrates and subverts the traditional sounds of the string quintet—driving, delicate, tense, and plaintive in turn. Other pieces on the program include Marti Epstein‘s Troubled Queen which is a precisely calibrated and ingeniously shifting sound world, employing her distinctive ear for color. Chaya Czernowin‘s Sahaf is an amped-up, crazy ride for saxophone, electric guitar, percussion, and piano. Saxophonist Philipp Staeudlin will complete the program with a work for sax and electronics by Davide Ianni. We’re looking forward to this concert, which will be framed by the warm acoustic and sleek lines of First Church in Boston’s sanctuary.

Equilibrium Ensemble presents chamber works
Saturday 3.30 | 8pm
First Church in Boston, 66 Marlborough St., Back Bay
$10 general admission

Video of recent performace of Christopher’s Attack 4 for modified joysticks

Attack 4 with EQ [equilibrium] concert series

iktusgroupshotThis weekend, Christopher’s Attack 4 for modified joysticks will be performed with EQ [equilibrium] concert series.  Critically acclaimed ensemble Iktus Percussion will be collaborating with members and local Bostonians in a program of works by Aaron Jay Myers, Franco Donatoni, Cornelius Cardew, Levy Lorenzo, Daniel Lewis, and Julia Wolfe.

Iktus Percussion Quartet
Saturday 3.16 | 4pm
Studio 401, Boston Conservatory, 31 Hemenway St.
$10 general admission

Composer’s Voice in Cambridge

Christopher, along with members of the Equilibrium Ensemble, will contribute reprisals of two Hyman Bloom chamber works (Chris Coughlin’s Leg and Jason Huffman’s Christmas Tree) as well as solo selections from John Harbison’s The Violist’s Notebook and Marti Epstein’s American Etudes to the Boston-area debut of Composer’s Voice, a series by NYC-based contemporary music initiative Vox Novus. The evening will also feature pianist Stephen Porter and a 60×60 East Coast Mix of new voices in electronic music.

Friday, March 1, 2013 at 8:00pm | $10 suggested donation
Common Room in Lehman Hall (Dudley House), Harvard University (southwest corner of Harvard Yard)

Three world premieres, including Christopher’s Panopticon this Friday at Old South Church

WE3(Feb.22)PosterThe Boston Conservatory Wind Ensemble, conducted by Eric Hewitt, will premiere Christopher’s latest work, Panopticon, at Old South Church in Boston, MA on February 21, 2013 at 8:00pm.

Program includes:
John Aylward: New Work, World Premiere
Keith Kusterer, M.M. ’13, Co-Winner of the 2012 Composition Competition: Of Patina, World Premeire
Christopher Homick, P.S.C. ’13, Co-Winner of the 2012 Composition Competition: Panopticon, World Premeire
Enesco: Dixtour
Husa: Music for Prague (1968)

Everything is Sexual (2012) by Aaron Jay Myers

Everything is Sexual (2012) by Aaron Jay Myers
Performed by Christopher Homick, amplified violoncello, and Ana Lorenzo, bass drum

Over and Over – short video by Elizabeth and Christopher Homick

Over and Over was a collaboration between brother and sister team, Christopher and Elizabeth. The original film was shot by Elizabeth and then edited by Christopher. The electronic sounds were generated using a modified joystick and with the help of Kat Bennicof Yundt.

Attack Four

Christopher’s latest composition, Attack Four for four modified Logitech joysticks will be performed Tuesday, November 13, 2012 at 8:00pm in Studio 401 at The Boston Conservatory.

Attack FourAttack Four is a quartet for modified Logitech Attack 3 gaming joysticks. Designed as a new electronic musical instrument, the joysticks allow the performer to directly access many dimensions of sound, with a high degree of nuance.  The software and concept were developed by electronics engineer and percussionist, Levy Lorenzo.

Writing for a new instrument was not an easy task. I had to discover the sounds and capabilities that the instrument was able to achieve and create a notational system that conveyed the intent in an accurate and precise way. With that said, the piece explores the notion of four performers learning a new instrument from scratch and juxtaposes unison sections with moments of dissension and chaos.  The score is a combination of traditional, spatial, and graphic notation.

There are a total of eleven buttons that are programmed with various samples, including bass drum, snare drum, bell, sine and sawtooth wave to name a few.  The joystick x-axis controls pitch and frequency while the y-axis adjusts volume.  In addition, there are two loops able to record two seconds that the player can utilize independent of one another.